Hyacinths, Azaleas, and Tulips BUT . . .

March 5, 2006

My mother and I went to the garden show today. Our city puts on a pretty spectacular show every year and we just love it. We wait for the ads to come on TV and call each other when we see the first one. Its a breath of spring early. when everything outside is still dead and brown, inside the Garden show the flowers are in full bloom, the trees are covered in blossoms, and the coi swim happily in their water features. The scent of Hyacinths is heady and dizzying in that pleasant, warm fresh way that they have.

But this year there was one highly disappointing problem. Three of the five main displays were NOT handicapped accessible. My mother is in a wheelchair so we were unable to see more than half of the gardens. In past years, while it has been tricky to get the wheelchair into the gardens, it has been possible. This year it wasn’t even possible. Very disappointing. We paid the same entry fee as everyone else, we should have been able to see all the displays. There were several other people in wheelchairs at the show, and they must have been just as disapointed as we were.
I wrote the chairperson, and she responded saying they’ll discuss the problem at the next board meeting. I plan to follow up. I get really defensive of my mom and other people I love. It’s bad enough that half the time people don’t notice her wheelchair and just stand around in the way like she isn’t even there. I want to shout ugly things at them, and shove them out of the way. Or maybe throw something at them. I have resisted the urge, thus far.
People do the same to children, not even noticing their presence till the child makes enough noise. The difference is a three foot tall child can duck through the crowd to see the sights, where as a woman in a wheelshair cannot.
Pay attention people! Open your eyes and see what is around you and if you can help someone by stepping back, do it!
Don’t even get me started on non-handicapped people parking in handicapped spots! or using the handicapped stall in a public Bathroom! I have really ugly things to say about that.

4 Responses to “Hyacinths, Azaleas, and Tulips BUT . . .”

  1. artsymommachic Says:

    That is so awful!!!!! I don’t know what else to say but that. I happen to know someone who has one of those handicap parking things that I do not think needs it at all (I am close enough to the person to know this!) I do not like to go anywher in a car with this person because it is embarrassing to me to get out of the car in the hanicapp spot because we should not be there! I could go on and on on this subject because I feel as passionately about it as you do.

  2. iainyoung Says:

    Terrible. I remember seeing the grand opening ceremony for a new park in Seoul. This was a big event attended to by the President, and to be honest I didn’t notice before, but on the day there was a bit of a protest by a handicapped group because the park was only accessible by steps. The government had spent millions on this park and they had totally neglected gangways for wheelchair access. It was pretty shocking when I realised, in fact, I felt more shocked as I hadn’t noticed.

    As for using disabled pariking spaces, I’m not guilty even in the most extreme parking diliemmas. I can’t lower myself to do that. Same for mother and baby parking and disabled toilets – maybe mistakenly. However, I did use the womens bathroom once, but that was an innocent mistake. I was with friends in a bar and the gents was sealed for renovation, and I was aware of only one other bathroom, which was the ladies. So I used it, only to find out later that there was another mens toilet. I have to admit that I used it without shame, and just walked in waved, smiled and mumbled something about the gents being shut…………Yes, I’m bad. But don’t chastise me as I’ve suffered enough.

  3. iainyoung Says:

    I said too much. Shucks. Almost as humiliating as the cockatoo/mardi gras thing.

    Better to shut up now.


  4. WordPress must be having problems today. I tried to comment on your photo, Iain, but it wouldn’t let me in. I was hoping you’d put up a photo of you and your Arch Enemies! They are so funny!

    I really am glad that neither of you needed my rant. Preaching to the choir, I tell ya.

    And it is always forgivable to use the wrong toilet. I have visited the gents loo once or twice myself–though I’d rather not if I have a choice. No flowers, no seating . . . Ladies room for me please!


Leave a Reply

