Deep Blue Funk or Curious George Goes to the Barber

March 7, 2006

Deep Blue Funk
Well that’s a lie. It’s really just a pale blue moment. I’m tired is all. We had a busy day and it has caught up with me. Beautiful Boy and I went to the zoo this morning. Today the Zebras were most interesting to him, and of course the exotic geese that hang out by the feeders. I had to shoo one of them back because it had the gall–the gall I tell you!–to hiss at my son! I said if it hissed again it would get nothing more from us! Amazingly it listened. We spend tons in quarters at the zoo because we love to feed the animals and I have a tiny ecology soap box, so I prefer to buy the food rather than use popcorn or crackers. Our city has a very nice zoo. It’s not one of those miserable places that make you ashamed to be a human. It’s well laid out and comfortable and clean. Except for the chimps, But I think the chimps like it better that way.

Then this afternoon we went swimming. It’s time to put him back in lessons since he is far too daring and has forgotten most of what he learned last year. He thinks he is so big that he doesn’t need mommy’s help, so I have to hover around him, not touching, but not letting him go either. He only went under twice. And he didn’t seem to care as much as I did. He’s totally fearless.

After his bath–daddy gives him his bath–my son informed me that he needs a “aircup” (translation: haircut). Hmmm. I wonder what he and daddy talked about during his bath tonight?

We all saw Curious George this weekend and my two year old budle of energy sat still the whole time and has been talking about George ever since. (See? Curious George goes to the barber? Because of the haircut reference above? Oh never mind. I think I’m funny and that’s all that matters.) It was an excellent film, particularly if you watch with some one very small. I highly recommend it.

Oh, Book Group reminder. Did you get a copy of Antietam? Sometimes I’m glad I didn’t buy a book, but I bought this one and so far I don’t regret it. The writing style is a little academic for my taste, but the information is fascinating.

I should change the name of this blog from “one girl’s opinion” to “all about my son!” Do you get tired of hearing about him? I never get tired of telling about him. And if you do get tired, don’t tell me. Just go read something else instead. Antietam, perhaps.

And this entry should be called Tangent Girl Strikes Again! My goodness but I hop all over the place tonight. Sleep, must go to sleep.

2 Responses to “Deep Blue Funk or Curious George Goes to the Barber”

  1. SEH Says:

    Hi..hope you & your son have had a good day…I cannot load up my blog! Hope someone has not complained about the content & I have been barred or something…probably something to do with The Elder!!

    😎

    I cannot remember my email address…sadly affected by mulled whatsit!


  2. It’s not you. blogger is down today, and wordpress is having some problems too.

    I’d e-mail you your e-mail address, but somehow I don’t think that would help.
    We had a good day. We bought sand for his sand table and now my patio is covered in a fine white grit. I’d mind except, I’m not that tidy myself, and sand sweeps up easily enough. I don’t mind a little mess. Truth be told, I encourage it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

