Snape–is he or isnt he?

March 9, 2006

We love Harry Potter in our house. We are so devoted that we come just shy of stalking! So naturally we bought Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire as soon as the DVD was available. Incidentally, #4 is my favorite book in the series. Well, this got DH and I to discussing the nuances of dear Severus Snape. (because of course Alan Rickman is deliciously dark in this movie. Yum!) We have a major difference of opinion in the Snape matter. See DH thinks Snape is pure evil, and I think Snape has good in him. Dumbledore believes in Snape and so do I!
Our mature debate went something like this:
DH:Snape is evil
me: No he’s good
DH: no he’s not
me: yes he is
Dh: nope
me: yep
DH: uh uh
me: uh hu
dh: he’s going to snuff it in the next book
me: Maybe, but we’ll all feel sad because he’s good.
Dh: Snape is evil
Me: no he’s good
dh: no he’s not
me: yes he is
dh: nope
me: yep

Get the picture? The final word? He’s wrong and Snape is good. I’m just sure of it. I think. I hope. Oh please let him be good! Write JK Rowling! Write!

2 Responses to “Snape–is he or isnt he?”

  1. iainyoung Says:

    Somethings rotten in Denmark! Or wordpress. It keeps logging me out.
    And Snape certainly is sinister, and perhaps a little evil. Not über-evil like “hewhocannotbenamed.” But I do believe that he is a little evil; worm-squishing evil. However, I could be mistaking his general surliness for micro-evilness. I think that he is a Darth-Vadar type character – seems evil, but at the finalé he’ll be won over to the good side. J.K. Rowling could use the following dialogue:

    Snape: POTTER! I am your father.
    Harry: No. No. It can’t be true.
    Snape: Believe me. You can feel that it’s true. (Breathes deeply).
    Harry: But, but, but.
    Snape: We are the same you and I. Deep down. The same flesh and blood.
    Harry: It can’t be true.
    [Voldemort enters]
    Voldemort: Professor Snape. The force is strong in this one.

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooo. I’m getting my plot lines mixed up.

  2. Mira James Says:

    Quote
    “Snape: POTTER! I am your father.
    Harry: No. No. It can’t be true.
    Snape: Believe me. You can feel that it’s true. (Breathes deeply).
    Harry: But, but, but.
    Snape: We are the same you and I. Deep down. The same flesh and blood.
    Harry: It can’t be true.
    [Voldemort enters]
    Voldemort: Professor Snape. The force is strong in this one.”

    ROTFL I love it


Leave a Reply

